Spinach and Squash Quiche

I love quiche and decided I wanted to try making one that had squash as an ingredient.  I also didn’t want to use heavy cream or half-and-half, and wanted to try using less cheese (I’m not a big cheese fan).  You may think that cutting out a lot of fat and cheesy goodness would take away from the taste, but the addition of the squash completely fixed that.   The squash I used (jasper) had a really great sweet and buttery taste.  I’m thinking butternut squash would have also been good.  I will definitely be making this again.

Crust:

  • 1 ½ cups flour (I used 1 cup white, ½ cup whole wheat)
  • 5 tablespoons butter, soft
  • Touch of olive oil
  • Water

Directions:

  1. In food processor combine flour and butter and pulse until small lumps form
  2. Pour in just a bit of olive oil, I think I used 1 tablespoon or less, pulse again
  3. Add ice water to mixture until soft dough forms
  4. Cover and place in refrigerator for at least an hour.
  5. When ready to make crust, flour surface with more wheat flour.
  6. Roll out until thin (this mixture is very plyable and I had no concerns with breaking)
  7. Place dough into quiche plate and cut around top.
  8. Bake dough for 10 minutes.  Many lumps will form, break lumps with fork when coming out of oven, but don’t pierce bottom.  I believe some people put something heavy in the quiche plate to prevent bubbling of dough, but I didn’t have anything for that and the crust still turned out fine.

Quiche ingredients:

  • 5 eggs
  • 1 ¼ cup to 1 ½ cup milk (I used fat free milk)
  • 2 cups chopped spinach (I like a bit more)
  • 1 chopped red bell pepper
  • 1 cup, plus a little more, Swiss cheese (I like a quiche that’s not so cheesy)
  • 1 squash (I used jasper)
  • Olive oil

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 400.
  2. While crust is hardening in refrigerator, bake squash
  3. Cut squash in half and brush with a small amount of olive oil, bake for close to an hour
  4. After squash as cooked and cooled slightly, peel and cut into cubes
  5. After crush has cooked slightly, begin layering ingredients
  6. Layer with spinach, bell pepper, squash, cheese, and repeat until all ingredients are used and mixture fits to top of quiche pan
  7. Blend eggs and milk in blender until frothy
  8. Pour onto of quiche mixture – should fill almost to top of pan
  9. Bake for around 40 to 45 minutes.  Sometimes it takes a bit longer, I cook until it’s brown on top

One thought on “Spinach and Squash Quiche

  1. Pingback: Parmesan Quiche | When Toasters Go Pyro

Leave a Reply

