Berry Smoothie – Favorite breakfast #1

I find that smoothies are one of the best breakfast for multiple reasons.  1) The ingredients are nutritious and keep you going until lunch time. 2) They allow you to multitask during the morning – they’re quick to make and you can carry it around with you while getting ready. 3) They’re delicious.

The recipe below uses ingredients I typically have in my house, so makes it quite easy.  The one thing that I have found I enjoy using more than the Greek yogurt, is whey protein isolate.  This makes a much smoother mixture.  If I’m using the protein isolate, then I swap out the Greek yogurt for  a regular vanilla or plain yogurt.  If doing this though, you must be careful with the type of flavored yogurt you use.  If you really look at the labels on the yogurt containers, you would be disgusted with how much sugar they add in.  This is why plain is always the best (if you eat it for a couple weeks you get over the taste and start to enjoy it).  I have found that Safeway brand yogurt tends to have less added sugar in their flavored yogurt than other brands – but of course go with what works for you.

This recipe is also altered for a more petite person (categorized as under 5’4″).  When you’re petite, always think about the serving size.  Serving size is based on the average person – man and woman.  When you’re shorter, your body naturally needs less calories, meaning that some of the serving sizes should be lowered slightly.  You’ll notice that I decrease the serving size of the Greek yogurt and blueberries by a 1/4 cup.  The flax seed I only use half, but primarily because it is almost too grainy when using both tablespoons.  [Note – I am not a health professional so I can only use my inductive reasoning to guess that I should decrease serving sizes slightly for myself, being a shorter person.]

Berry Smoothie

  •  ¾ cup non-fat plain Greek yogurt (I like Fage the best)
  • ¾ cup blueberries, blackberries, or mixed berries – strawberries are too sweet (I typically use frozen and then heat them for 30 seconds in the microwave to soften them up – helps make a smoother mixture)
  • 1 tablespoons milled flaxseed (if you can’t find your own you can grind whole flax seeds in a coffee grinder I believe, but they need to be dust like)
  • 1 hand-full old fashioned oats (this is probably less than ¼ cup for me)
  • Dash of milk, orange juice, or water depending on preference

smoothie picture

Leave a Reply

