Picking a gym is like picking a house?

For the past 5+ years I have been going to 24 hour fitness. Fitness is a huge part of my life and this chain has been something I have enjoyed and accomplished goals with. However, my membership is expiring in just a couple days and I’m now facing down the road of a possible change. Avoiding the change all together would be my first choice (I really don’t want to leave), but as it happens at times, price is going to speak volumes (that’s what happens when you work in social services). However, I contemplate if I’m willing to pay more to stick with something that is comfortable and has fit me just right. But isn’t that something you should never do in fitness? Shouldn’t we be pushing ourselves to do new and different, not settle into routines that cause a plateau? Should I be looking at this as a potentially positive change? Then why is the mere thought of changing gyms causing me to over analyze everything.

I had no idea that the small thought of switching gyms would be so complex. I mean, it’s not like I’m buying a house – it’s just a gym membership. Or is picking a gym like buying a house? Don’t you need to find the place that suits you best? The place where you’ll feel most comfortable; The place where you’ll feel relaxed and inspired – ready to take on the day; The place where you hope to accomplish goals and feel good about yourself! When you put the thought process together, it makes perfect sense why picking a gym is so hard. The place you pick needs to be what you’ve been looking for.

I’m not quite sure yet what I’ll be doing when my membership runs up, but so far I’m likely looking at making the switch. If I do, I’m hoping that the new place will start to feel comfortable quickly, and maybe even turn into something positive.

4 thoughts on “Picking a gym is like picking a house?

  1. when I moved here 6 weeks ago I made an impulsive decision to join a local gym. in Denver, 24 hr fitness was $50 a month and here for Vision Quest I pay $16 and I am loving it so far. hopefully it wasn’t a bad gamble! (it’s clean, big, not super busy, tvs on every cardio machine, and I get a free training session a month). good luck!

  2. Yeah, the 24 hour fitness here is around $30 right now I think, but even at that overtime adds up to too much (I’m fairly frugal and the last membership I had was a really good pre-paid for them). There’s another gym around that I checked out and it’s not too bad. It’s smaller of course, but I think I can make it work. What I’m thinking about doing is trying CrossFit with some of the money I’ll be saving.

Leave a Reply

