Oh cookie exchange, you are my nemesis

One of my friends is having a cookie exchange.  I thought this would be fun and easy since I fancy myself a fairly good cookie maker.  I thought I’d pick a recipe and would make something that looked delicious and well thought out.

I was wrong.

I ended up working quite a bit extra this week, which meant I was down to just Saturday to bake the cookies.  Well, in effort to not spend all day baking, I thought I’d do something crazy… make my chocolate chip cookie recipe.  Nothing new, nothing complicated. Easy peasy, right?

Wrong again!

Because I didn’t want to show up with regular old chocolate chips (I’m sure everyone else is going to do something fun), I thought I’d put a fun little twist on them; I figured Christmas tree shapes would be wonderful!  And instead of mixing the chips in, I’d melt them and make sandwiches out of the trees.

Well folks, this is where I went all wrong.  I have been baking cookies and getting them ready for hours now.  It turns out that no matter how much extra flour you put in that oh so scrumptious chocolate chip dough, the dough still spreads too much to really make a good shape once baked (I had a 95% hunch that this is what was going to happen, but I ignored it).

So, now there I am stuck with an entire batch of green dough.  I’m unwillingly committed to this now.   What do I do?

I’m doing some problem solving and I’m not thrilled with my options.  It looks like I’m going to have to pat out small sections of dough, use the tree shape to cut the dough, put the shape onto the cookie tray, bake, and then when they come out of the oven – use the cutter again in order to get a normal tree shape.

Great, this isn’t time consuming at all (insert sarcasm here).

I’m finally getting down to the last of the dough – thank-goodness!  Then I start counting and guess what!  I don’t have enough dough for 36 cookies.  Wonderful!  So I start problem solving again.  I know I’m going to have to make another batch, so I’m thinking I can just add red to the dough so the sandwiches can be green and read.  Great idea!

Wrong again.

As I’m mixing up the batch of cookies, I’m thinking that I really don’t want to do that tree cutting process all over again.  So I figure I’ll just make round cookies and decorate them to look like ornaments.

Sigh.  I should have mentioned I’m not super talented with an icing squeezer… when I’m running low on patience.

So in the end, I have some questionable looking cookies.  I’m only showing you the trees because they look slightly presentable.  The red “ornament” cookies are being hidden and some sad person is going to have to take them home tomorrow.  Don’t get me wrong, they taste like wonderful chocolate chip cookies, but they’re just pitiful to look at!

tree cookies sized

Lesson learned… Don’t over-complicate things.  I was trying to avoid making sugar cookies, but since that’s essentially what I did, I could have done that and saved myself hours of baking.  I originally didn’t want to wait 2 hours for the dough to chill.

It’s now almost 4pm.  I don’t even want to tell you what time I started!

Happy holidays and enjoy the rest of your day.  I’m going to go for a run – I think I tested too much melted chocolate. 🙂

Leave a Reply

