Chicken stuffed with oranges

Tonight I thought I would try my hand at a scratch recipe for chicken.  Typically things like roast, whole chicken, etc. is not really my area.  I can cook veggies, casseroles, and chicken breast with the best of them, but whole cuts of meat or a whole chicken I typically don’t cook much.

I thought that having a citrus type chicken would be delicious and I could use the leftover for some tasty Asian dishes.  I had some really great oranges so thought I’d give that a shot.  I have to say that while the chicken was really good, I was slightly disappointed that I couldn’t taste more of the orange flavor.  Therefore, if anyone out there has any tips on making it more orange flavored, it would be much appreciated.  I think next time I may cut some thin orange slices and place them under the skin, that’s bound to help.

None-the-less, chicken is pretty good no matter what, so this didn’t turn out too bad.  Plus, it of course smelled wonderful while it was cooking – gave that nice homey feeling – and it warmed up my much too cold apartment that doesn’t care to hold heat very well.

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole chicken
  • 1 orange (maybe 2 would have been better)
  • 3 celery stalks
  • A cup of sliced carrots (I really like carrots)
  • 1 onion
  • Sage, rosemary, pepper
  • Olive oil
  • Chicken broth
  • Garlic cloves (2 for inside the chicken, as many other cloves as you want to just drop into the pan – it’s delicious when spread on bread after it’s cooked)

Directions:

Heat the oven to 350degrees Fahrenheit. Slice the celery and carrots and place in the bottom of the pot.  Next, cut the orange in half and then half of the orange into segments.  Roughly chop the onion and garlic.  Put half of the onion in the pot with the celery and carrots and then drop in desired amount of garlic cloves.  Pour in a touch of chicken broth; I did maybe a half cup.  Stuff the chicken with the orange segments, the remaining onion and the 2 chopped garlic cloves.  Place into pot on top of the veggies.  Pour a bit of olive oil under the skin of the chicken and then pour some on top.  Rub the olive oil evenly on the chicken.  Use the other half of the orange and squeeze over top.  Sprinkle some rosemary, sage, and pepper on top.  Cook for however long is required based on the weight of the chicken.  I cooked the majority of the time with the lid on, and then shortly before it was done took the lid off to brown up the skin.

orange chicken

2 thoughts on “Chicken stuffed with oranges

  1. Pingback: Lemon Roasted Chicken | When Toasters Go Pyro

Leave a Reply

