Chicken and Almond Soup

So here I am again, much too long after my last post.  I think what I need to do is set a challenge for myself so I don’t lack on the blog entries.  I’ve also been making A LOT of pinterest recipes, so I haven’t had any fun recipes of my own.  Though, I could blog about some of the recipe failures I’ve tried… hmm

Anyway, what I have today is one of my favorite soup recipes.  In fact, it might even be my favorite.  It’s incredibly simple to make and calls for very few recipes.  I have adapted it from my favorite recipe book – 400 soups.  Have I mentioned yet on my blog how much I like soup!

Ok, so this recipe is called Chicken and Almond soup and is very simple.  And while the recipe is definitely delicious, and at one step along the way you may think: “Really!  This doesn’t look appetizing at all.”  I promise though, it’s definitely good.  Bonus, it freezers amazing in those 1 cup containers and it’s a perfect lunch size serving.

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion (or Leek – I think a leek gives it a nice flavor)
  • 1 large chicken breast, or two small
  • 1 cup ground almonds
  • 1 large carrot, cut up
  • ½ cup peas
  • Crushed red pepper
  • Chicken broth (or you can use water)
  • Pepper
  • Olive oil

Directions:  Chop the onion (doesn’t matter how you chop it) and place it in pan with a bit of olive oil.  Chop the carrot and do the same.  Heat over medium heat until soft.  While the onion and carrots are cooking, chop the chicken into pieces.  Once the onion as cooked you place the chicken in the pan along with the peas and ground almonds.  Sprinkle in your desired crushed red pepper (I put a lot in because I like spicy foods).  Make sure you put some water or chicken broth into the pan so the food doesn’t stick to the bottom.  However, because of the ground almonds you will still have to stir some while the chicken is cooking so it doesn’t stick to the pan (I only use stainless steel so you may not have to cook if using Teflon… Me, I am against any pans that are not ceramic or stainless steel).  Once the chicken is cooked through, pour everything into a food process.  Puree until nice and smooth (due to the almonds it will still be a bit textured – this is perfect).  While it’s pureeing you may need to add a bit of water or chicken broth to help smooth it out a bit.  When it’s pureed enough, pour into pot.  Heat through in the pot, adding more chicken broth until the soup starts to thin a bit, but not too much.  This is not a soup you want to be thin.  Once you’re done with that, sprinkle in any salt and pepper you want, pour into bowls, and serve with toasted bread or homemade warm bread.  Enjoy!

This is what it looks like in the pan when cooking.  While it may not look like much, keep going to the end!

chicken almond soup in pan

This is the finished product…

chicken almond soup finished

Leave a Reply

