I’m going to sugar hell… Cinnamon rolls made with whatever I had at home

cinnamon rolls with icing a

Today at I work I was with some of the kids and we somehow got on the topic of sweet things.  From that I then decided I wanted to try my hand at making cinnamon rolls (loosely adapted recipe below).  I don’t know why cinnamon rolls came to mind since I’m not a big fan of them and I would feel REALLY guilty for eating that much sugar, but they sounded delicious none-the-less.

As I was perusing recipes I noticed that they all called for butter and milk and/or buttermilk.  Well, I don’t actually have those items in my house at this time, and rarely do I, so I decided I would improvise.  I had no desire to to make a trip to the store.  I mean, why go buy ingredients for something that I really only want one of and will be taking the rest to work.  So anyway, I found this recipe on allrecipes.com for Ninety minute cinnamon rolls (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Ninety-Minute-Cinnamon-Rolls/Detail.aspx).

In place of the milk I just used water heated to 115 degrees and I omitted the butter completely.  I also used 3ounces of yeast since my scale only measures in tenths.  To replace some of the milk sugar I added an extra ¼ cup of white sugar (I know the logic that I don’t need this much, but it sounded fun).  I then made the dough as the directions called for.  I kneaded the dough for 5 minutes until it was smooth, like it said, and it looked really great.   While that was resting I made the brown sugar mix.  Since I wasn’t using butter, I used some oil and honey.  I put the 1 cup of brown sugar in a pot and poured in about ¼ cup honey and then enough oil to make the brown sugar moist.

Once that was ready I rolled out the dough to the dimensions called for.  I just used my hands to crumble the mixture onto the dough, rather than spread it around.  Since it was mostly wet from the oil, this was really the only option.

As the dough was rising the rolls looked like nothing special.  In fact, at one point I wasn’t sure if they were going to rise at all.  However, once I got them into the oven that’s when the magic started happening.  I baked them for about 25 minutes instead of 20 and boy let me tell you, that sugar was bubbling all in that pan!  It was so sweet smelling that my house smelled like a candy store.

Once they came out of the oven I let them cool for 5 minutes and then poured a powder sugar icing over top.  Wait, you remember I said I didn’t have any milk, so how did I make that.  Well, with water.  I used 1/3 cup water and A LOT of powder sugar.  I mixed the concoction with a mixer until it was pourable but also starting to thicken up (you may be amazed at how much powder sugar you have to add).  Once that was ready I poured the entire thing over top of the cinnamon rolls.  Because I used oil instead of butter, I’m going to place the rolls in the fridge tonight.  Tomorrow I’ll separate them out and scoop whatever is on the bottom of the pan, on top of the cinnamon rolls.

So the verdict?  I tried one after it was out of the oven and OH MY is it good!  Don’t get me wrong, I’m going to sugar hell for making these, not to mention sharing them (since others might make them), especially since I’m really into eating all sorts of healthy, but at least for now I feel satisfied in my baking needs for the evening.  Oh, and the entertaining outcome… I really wished I had a glass of milk while I was eating one.

Now, where is my toothbrush and point me to the direction of the nearest treadmill.

——

Recipe loosely adapted:

1 cup warm water (115degrees)

3 ¼ cup white flour (plus some for kneading)

½ cup white sugar

3 oz instant dry yeast

½ teaspoon salt

1 egg

1 cup brown sugar

A good amount of cinnamon (I love cinnamon)

A ¼ cup honey

A touch of canola oil

For icing: 1/3 cup water, a lot of powdered sugar.

 Directions: In bowl put flour, sugar, salt, and yeast.  Once water is heated pour into flour mixture, add egg and mix.  Once dough starts to pull away from the sides take out and place on floured surface.  Knead for 5 minutes (as direction says).  Let rest.  Mix brown sugar, honey, and oil.  Heat just a bit so it mixes through well.  Roll out dough to what the recipe calls for (19×12).  Crumble brown sugar mix over dough and flatten.  Roll length wise.  Cut into even portions (about 12) and place in 19×3 baking pan.  I bet these would be really good if you squeezed them in an 8×8 pan though.  Let rise in warm place for 30 minutes.  Have oven preheated to 375degrees and bake for 25 minutes.  Let cool for about 5 minutes and then pour icing mixture on top.

—–

Here they are straight out of the oven, the sugar still bubbling.

cinnamon rolls a

Leave a Reply

