Banana Oat Muffins – Flourless & no white sugar

Do you ever get down to that one banana that doesn’t get picked to eat but seems like a waste to throw it away?  That’s typically how it works when I buy bananas.  At the time I think they look great, then I have one and realize I’m not a huge fan of bananas.  So what usually happens is out of the two that I buy, one of them sits until I figure out a plan.  Well, today was the day I decided that rather than cutting it up and putting it the freezer I would give a go at something else.

Despite not enjoying bananas much themselves I am a big fan of banana bread.  Homemade of course.  Since I didn’t have enough bananas to do a full bread loaf, nor did I have the sugar or needed flour, I figured I’d whip up something a bit different. What I came out with was definitely worthy of making again and can be modified many ways for variety.  I also enjoy that the muffins did not come out sweet because sweet bread just doesn’t make sense to me.  I ended up slathering some peanut butter on top (also homemade) and it made for a tasty little treat for a mid morning snack.

In the recipe below I used agave nectar since it’s what I had at home. Honey or white sugar would work fine as well.  If using honey I’d increase the amount a bit and then add a touch more oats.  If using white sugar you would have to use more since agave is a bit sweeter, and would need to lower the amount of oats.

Items needed:

  • 1 over ripe banana (mine was medium in size)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1/8 cup agave nectar
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • Mini  muffin sheet and liners – makes a bakers dozen

Directions:

Heat oven to 375 degrees F

I used a food processor since I was using whole oats and this allowed them to be grinded up nicely and provided a good consistency.  I don’t think the same results would come from using a regular mixer, a blender would be closer if you don’t have a food processor.

In the food processor add the banana, oil, vanilla and agave nectar.  Puree for about 1 minute to mix everything up really well.  While it’s mixing break an egg into the mixture and again let it create a nice puree.  While the processor is still going add in the salt and baking soda and let mix in a bit.  Stop the processor and add 1/2 cup of oats.  When I added the first 1/2 cup of oats I let it mix together for about 1 minute, same for the second 1/2 cup.  When I added the last 1/2 cup of oats I let the mixer go while I did a bit of clean up and prepared the muffin tins.  By this point the mixture should be sticky and not runny at all – which is going a bit against normal banana bread but don’t worry.  Fill the muffin cups almost all the way full.  Bake for 10-12 minutes and remove from oven.  Not much cooling time is needed since these little treats are small.  I spread peanut butter on top but I bet they would be delicious with chocolate drizzle, almond butter, etc.  A glass of milk accompanies these muffins well.

photo-3

2 thoughts on “Banana Oat Muffins – Flourless & no white sugar

    • Well, there are definitely worse muffins out there. 🙂 They are very tasty though. I just made them again the other day and they were delicious. They also freezer really well and I actually like them even more right out of the freezer.

Leave a Reply

