Chicken, rice and veggie salad with avocado and yogurt dressing

To start off I would like to say that today has so far been a lovely day.  The sun has decided to present itself wonderfully in the last few days and today is following right along.  To start out this lovely day I got a good workout in and then later found myself meandering the shops for quite some time for an enjoyable afternoon activity.  Everything is full of spring and summer colors and the weather is warm so you can go outside without having to dress in eight layers and a pair of boots.  Always enjoyable.  Then I stopped off at Teavana to purchase a nice little tea for my ride home.  If you’ve never been to Teavana I recommend it because the tea is absolutely wonderful, overpriced, but wonderful.  I ended up ordering a to-go drink blend of Blueberry Bliss and Pineapple Kona Pop and even splurged and had it sweetened.  I never sweeten my tea but today felt like a day to go ahead and give-in.

Alright, I should probably get to what I ended up throwing together for lunch.  Again this is another recipe that I threw together just by pulling items from the cupboard and refrigerator.  I don’t consider myself a culinary artist by any means, so if you’re expecting something beyond amazing, you might have to make some modifications.  Mainly when I cook I just try to throw things together that are nutritious and filling.

Anyway, originally I had planned on using these veggies and the dressing idea for pasta but I rarely have any pasta in the house so I had to improvise.  I should mention that the recipe below is for 1 serving because it’s just me for lunch today, so if you want to give it a go then you’ll have to adjust accordingly.

Items:

  • 1/2 bell pepper, any color but today orange seemed perfect
  • 3-4 thick slices of zucchini cut into quarters
  • 7-10 grape tomatoes sliced in half
  • 3 artichoke hearts (whole from the can and then sliced, I used Trader Joe’s brand and they were very flavorful)
  • 1/4 cup brown rice, already cooked
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1/3 cup plain yogurt (I used non-fat because that is what I had but feel it would be much better using a low fat plain yogurt)
  • 1/2 chicken breast, cooked (I’m not a big meat fan so if you want to use a whole breast then go for it)
  • Salt for tasting
  • Squeeze of lemon for dressing

What I ended up doing:

First I made the avocado dressing, this part did make multiple servings, probably enough for at least 2 and more likely 3 people.  I put the avocado and yogurt in the blender and just let it run for a minute or so.  I then squeezed a touch of lemon into the mix and added a bit of salt and then blended it for just a few seconds more.

Next I tossed all of the veggies together to mix them up well.  I put the 1/4 cup rice on top and heated in the microwave for about 1 minute (my veggies were from the refrigerator and I wanted them more room temp).  I topped it off with some chicken breast I had just cooked up and then put a few dollops of avocado dressing on top and stirred everything together.  It ended up turning out pretty good, not to mention very filling.  I think a nice slice of bread would go wonderfully as a side.

chicken salad

chicken salad 2

Leave a Reply

