I don’t think it’s possible to make celery soup taste good

A few weeks ago I stumbled upon a recipe on Pinterest for celery soup.  Being someone who loves adding celery to soups, stews, and stir-fry’s, I figured why not give this a go.  Well, let me tell you friends, it is not good.

I bought the celery fresh from the farmer’s market so there were no concerns with it being too old and not having enough flavor.  Same with the onion.  It smelled great while it was cooking up.  Looked tasty in the food processor.  Was terrible when eating.

Now, I’m a person who thinks that if I made something I’m not going to waste it by just tossing it down the drain.  So instead I tried to figure out how to make it better.  A friend suggested bacon, with the reasoning being: “Bacon makes everything better.”  I figured I would give it a try.

So there I am, cooking bacon on the stovetop and trying to avoid splattering everywhere, knowing that pretty soon I’m going to be pouring some of that grease into the soup.  Well, once it was done it just about killed me watching that bacon grease go into the soup.  I couldn’t believe that I would soon be eating this.  Next I chopped up some of the cooked meat and tossed it in.  Then I gave it a taste.  A few seconds later I concluded even bacon cannot improve the taste of celery soup.

I’m fairly certain that the one ingredient that would make it better would be cream.  However, since I’d already put the bacon in there, with some of the run-off, I just couldn’t bring myself to go that extra mile.  So now I have 4 or 5 servings of celery soup in my freezer that will wait until who knows when.  Maybe when I have a cold and can’t taste anything.

Here’s the link to the soup if you want to try and find a way to make it taste better.  After all, it could just be my taste buds.  If you do find a way to make it taste better though, do let me know.

http://www.yummly.com/recipe/Creamy-Celery-Soup-Martha-Stewart-194587?columns=6&position=68/72

 

2 thoughts on “I don’t think it’s possible to make celery soup taste good

    • The trick to the bacon grease… stir fast and serve. Though now that I think about, I am a bit concerned about opening up the frozen ones. Oh dear.

Leave a comment