Chicken and Sweet Potato Casserole

Tonight I wasn’t sure what I was going to have for dinner, mostly because my refrigerator and cupboard have close to nothing in them.   When I say close to nothing, I actually mean that.  I think I’m down to half an onion, some homemade peanut butter, some lunchmeat, about 4 slices of bread, and a green pepper.  Yes, that’s it!  Thanks goodness for the farmer’s market this weekend.

Anyway, looking at this collection of things I realized I could have made a sandwich, but really what is a sandwich without a nice slice of cheese?  So that option was out. Then looking through my freezer I realized I had a couple chicken breasts.  Ok, I can do something with this.  Next I went to raid my vegetable dish that had a sweet potato.  Then I started getting excited!  If I had a can of chicken broth in the cupboard then I was set to go.  I checked the cupboard and… Brilliant!  I decided I was going to make a chicken and sweet potato casserole that I haven’t made in about 4 years.

Quite some time ago I randomly threw together some ingredients and came up with this casserole.  At least I think I can call it a casserole.  Anyway, it’s extremely simple and got the approval of a friend, so I used to make it quite a bit.  Then I think I just started making other things and forgot about the recipe.  Well tonight I remembered why I used to make it so much.  In addition to being really easy, it tastes pretty good too.

Ingredients:

  • 1 large sweet potato (pretty good size).  Make sure it’s a true sweet potato, the white ones, not yams.
  • 2 sliced carrots
  • 1 or 2 chicken breast (depending on how much chicken you like)
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • Couple shakes of red pepper flakes (if you don’t want the spice this can be left out)
  • 1 can of chicken broth
  • Olive oil
  • Flour

Directions:

  • Heat over to 400degrees F
  • Peel and slice the carrots, but not too thick.  Then peel and chop the sweet potato into about inch size pieces – can be a bit bigger if you would like.  Next, put the potato, carrots, and garlic into a large pan.  Pour a bit of olive oil over top and then heat over medium.  Continue to mix everything together for about 5 minutes and then pour in about a ½ cup of the broth.  Cook for about 10 minutes or until potatoes start getting slightly soft.  Once the potatoes are not rock hard anymore, toss the chicken in with a ¼ cup of flour (1/2 cup if you would like it a bit creamier).  Stir until the flour is mixed in well and then transfer to an 8x8inch baking pan.  Put in oven on center rack and cook for 25-30 minutes.  Serve and enjoy.

sweet potato 1

sweet potato 2

Leave a Reply

