Black bean, polenta, egg white and avocado burrito/wrap

This is one of my favorite go-to easy-peasy meals that’s healthy but filling.  I actually end up making this more often for breakfast than lunch or dinner because it’s a great way to start the morning (of course with a side of blueberries).  Sometimes if I’m having this for lunch at work I’ll leave out the egg whites.  I just pack a ¼ of the avocado and then a container of the beans and polenta mixed together.   From there it’s pretty easy to mix everything together at work.

Ingredients:

  • ¼ cup black beans, warmed for a few seconds in the microwave
  • ¼ cup cooked polenta
  • 2 egg whites
  • ¼ avocado
  • 1 La Tortilla Low-Carb tortilla (This is a tortilla that is wheat based and doesn’t taste like cardboard)
  • Sea salt to taste

To make this I cook up the polenta first.   To make the polenta I use 1 ½ cups water and a ½ cup polenta.  This is considered a “half serving” from the original directions but it provides A LOT of polenta.  Once the water is boiling pour in the polenta and stir frequently.  Once it starts to bubble set it aside and it will start to thicken.

Next I mash the avocado into a bowl and set that aside with the warm beans added.   Then I cook the egg whites. Once the egg whites are done I add those and the polenta to the bowl and mix together.  Tip in some sea salt to taste.  Once it’s at the taste level you like then use 2/3 of the mixture to put on the tortilla.  There’s always a bit of a leftover because I like to eat the rest out of the bowl.

polenta burrito

2 thoughts on “Black bean, polenta, egg white and avocado burrito/wrap

    • I must say I do eat this quite a bit. A lot of the stuff I make is more plain, but it’s because I’m not big on seasonings and spices, which is along the lines with this recipe. I think I just like things to taste like what it is. I have thought about spicing this up though with some jalapeños and/or some salsa. Sometimes if I don’t have avocado and eggs I’ll make this with just the polenta and black beans and a smidgen of homemade ranch dressing.

Leave a Reply

