Homemade Peanut Butter… and a failed chalkboard paint trial

I love peanut butter.  But really, who doesn’t love peanut butter?   You can put it on toast, in sandwiches, eat it with apples (my personal favorite), or toss it in some stir-fry for peanut butter chicken (I should post about that sometime).

What I dislike about peanut butter is all of the junk manufacturing companies put in the product.  Therefore I make my own peanut butter.  When it’s homemade you can leave out the salt, the sugar, and of course the hydrogenated oils.  Who need those anyway?

After you make a batch you can then section it out and make different types.  If you want one that is sweeter then go ahead and add some sugar.  You can also make cinnamon peanut butter, honey peanut butter, or even a combination of the two.   You could even add chopped peanuts to make a chunky peanut butter and/or throw in some cranberries.  AND, the best part about homemade peanut butter… it costs peanuts to make.

I bought a big bag of peanuts from the bulk section last weekend (about 4 or 5 cups) and I think it ended being around $2.00.  Not too bad.

The only difference from this peanut butter than the typical types bought in stores is that it is not solid when warm.  So it’s more of a pack-to-go type of thing for lunch (and make your sandwich at work) or just eating it on things from home.  If I’m going hiking or skiing or something else where we’ll want to pack peanut butter, then it does make sense to buy the stuff from the store that won’t melt all over everything.

Directions:

To make this, all you need is 3 heaping cups of roasted peanuts, a food processor, and a jar.  I’ve found that the standard Adam’s peanut butter jar will fit this perfectly.   To make it you put the peanuts in the processor, turn it on, and let it go.  At first your processor will sound like it’s got marbles in it because the peanuts turn into a big ball.  But after a minute they start to break down further.  Every minute or so I scrape down the sides and scrape the bottom.  Once they start to really cream together then you can just let the processor go until it’s really creamy.  I think it takes about 5 minutes.  Once it’s done, put it in your jar, stick it in the fridge, and you’re good to go.

Peanut butter 1

peanut butter 2

As you can see by my jar in the picture, I attempted chalkboard paint.  This was my first attempt at one of those nifty chalkboard Pinterest ideas.  Well, it didn’t work out so well.  First I messed up the lines so I had to paint over it a few times, and then when I wiped off the chalk it took some paint off.  Plus, when you take it out of the fridge then the condensation just makes the chalk rub off easier.  I figured that would happen, but still wanted to give it a shot.

So now I’m on to finding more chalkboard ideas.  I do like that I have purple chalkboard paint – much more my color than boring old black paint.  I was able to find a tintable chalkboard paint at home depot, so if you’re looking for a color besides black then that would be a good spot.

6 thoughts on “Homemade Peanut Butter… and a failed chalkboard paint trial

    • Yay, I’m excited you’re going to try it. It tastes like just peanuts, so some people might want to add a few other things, but I still think it’s quite scrumptious. I had some on my toast this morning. 🙂

    • Well, if you think peanuts are bland, then yes, it’s likely to be a bit bland. 🙂 However, it’s WAY better than having hydrogenated oils, so I’m all for it. I bet you could add some honey (or sugar) and cinnamon and it would liven the party up quite a bit! Oh, and for a non-bland recipe – come back tomorrow.

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies & a Monday Workout (Do those two go together?) | When Toasters Go Pyro

  2. Pingback: Tired legs and an OK onion soup | When Toasters Go Pyro

Leave a Reply

