Berry smoothie and a morning workout

I may have already posted a similar smoothie mix, but that’s ok, I love smoothies.  This morning I started out my day by waking up REALLY early so I could get to the gym.  I wanted to get there early because I knew today was our team meeting and we always eat too much for lunch.  I also knew today would be one of the planned sugar consumption days.  [Gotta say, after going so many days without sugar, I didn’t feel great after having cake and I could have certainly gone without.]

My morning workout at the gym was pretty good, and then once home I did a body weight workout.  Thanks goodness today was the light rep day because I don’t think I could have done 150 squats!

Treadmill:

7.0 – 5 minutes

9.0 – 30 seconds on, 30 seconds off for 10 minutes

5% incline @ 6.5 – 1 minute one, 1 minute off.  Go until legs feel like Jelly.

5% incline @ 9.0 – 20 on, 20 off, 5 minutes

Then I did a half hour elliptical to shake out the legs.

Body weight workout:

50 squats

40 plie squats

40 donkey kicks (each leg)

40 fire-hydrants (each leg)

40 side leg (each leg)

30 push-ups

Now that I was done with that, it was smoothie time!

What’s in it:

  • ½ cup blueberries
  • 1 container %0 Fage greek yogurt (plain)
  • 1 tbsp milled flaxseed
  • Ice
  • Dash of milk
  • Dollop of whip cream.

I throw everything but the whip cream into the blender and blend until smooth.  I then topped it with some homemade whip cream (so it didn’t have added sugar) and it was the perfect little topping for tasty smoothie.

What a nice start to the day!

berry smoothie 1

4 thoughts on “Berry smoothie and a morning workout

    • Gosh, a cookie would have been wonderful! The workout itself wasn’t too hard. I typically have to do at least an hour of cardio 5 days a week to get a good maintenance going on, and then throw in weights occasionally. That was my friday workout (though I posted it today). I missed today’s because I spent all day with a friend while we went shopping and to my parents house, so now I have to think up a really good workout for the morning.

Leave a comment