Parmesan Quinoa “Mac & Cheese”

Last night I was trying to think of something for dinner and didn’t want another salad just because it was easy.

While trying to think something up I remembered that I bought some quinoa a couple weeks ago and haven’t yet used it.  I also had some Parmesan cheese that I should eventually start using.

So, what do you make out of that?  Well, you make quinoa Parmesan “Mac & Cheese!”  [I was going to make a Pinterest version of this but never got around to looking at it so I deleted the Pin.  That just means I get to create my own variety. :))

I know quinoa is a protein packed seed but I also wanted to add some type of meat.  I’m donating blood in a couple weeks so I need to start working on iron levels as last time I went in I was much too low and got a nice little lecture.  Therefore I thought the addition of hamburger meat would be sufficient.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 1 ½ cups water
  • ½ cup (heaping) parmesan cheese
  • ¼ cup milk
  • ½ lbs. hamburger – I used 5% beef for this  (Leave out to go vegetarian)
  • Sprinkle of flour
  • Garlic, optional  (I didn’t put it in this time because I had just made some garlic olive oil, but I’ll definitely add it next time)

Directions:  Cook the quinoa first.  Bring the water to boil in a small pot and then add the quinoa.  Stir to mix the quinoa around and then cover and simmer for 15-20 minutes.

While the quinoa is cooking fry the hamburger meet and then place on paper towel to drain off any excess grease.

When the quinoa is done, set aside.

In a medium pot put in the Parmesan cheese and sprinkle with a little bit of flour in order to coat the cheese.  Add milk.  Turn burner onto low-medium heat and stir consistently.  You’ll need to use a whisk for this, as Parmesan is a cheese that needs lots of stirring when melting.

Once the cheese is melted add in 2/3 of the cooked quinoa (I probably could have added it all, but I was saving some for something else).  Mix the cheese and quinoa together and then mix in the hamburger and stir until everything is mixed nicely together.

quinoa cheese

quinoa cheese 2

2 thoughts on “Parmesan Quinoa “Mac & Cheese”

Leave a Reply

