What a week…

I’ve been quite absent from blogging world this week.  I’ll just say: it’s been quite a week.

For a start, we’ll go with today:  I wake up at 5am to get to the gym to go swimming followed by a long run on the treadmill.  Get all my swimming gear on, get ready to head to the pool… forgot my goggles.  So I do 100meter kickboard to warm up the legs and then hop in the hot tub to get some good stretches in. I’m now getting my running gear on and I can’t figure out why my socks don’t fit right.  Well, I had them on the wrong feet (these socks make a difference for sides), but it took me a few minutes to try and figure out what was wrong.  Then I get on the treadmill and start running but my legs feel like lead!  We’re talking there’s no chance I’m moving faster than a walking pace.  So I walk it out for 15 minutes then figure I’ll give the elliptical a try (thinking weights at this point is a no go).  Nope, made it 15 minutes before I felt like I couldn’t move anymore.  Clearly time to go home.  At least I tried.

As far as the rest of my week, oi!  Here’s how it went:

  • Two more days of teaching class which immediately followed my last weekend class.  LONG days!
  • Kid drama central at work!  I feel like I’m on the road to some good plans, but it was not an easy week.
  • Working late (all week), getting home, having requests to come back to talk to some kids, going back to work.  Ok, I do this because I like my kids.  But it doesn’t help with being tired.
  • Wednesday someone hits my car in the gym parking lot.  They left a note and they’re really nice and all is being taken care of.  So at the end of the day not really a big deal, but still.
  • Friday, leave early.  Only to be followed by a million other things to do.
  • And on top of it all I have been having horrible allergies.  My eyes start running like a river without any notice, regardless of being in a meeting or in the middle of a conversation… or even in the middle of a workout.  Dear people at the gym, no I’m not crying while I workout.  The running eyes have also been accompanied with extreme irritation that makes me want to rub my eyes non-stop.  However, I can’t touch them because one little touch sends them into super inflamed mode.
  • Oh, and I’ve been eating sugar again.  I have a feeling this is one of the bigger culprits of stress and being tired so I’ll go back to the way it was.

So, today will be browsing stores with a friend, seeing a movie, and doing nothing but relaxing.  Tomorrow will start a fresh week of working out and trying to think of some tasty recipes for the squash I found at the farmer’s market yesterday. 🙂

2 thoughts on “What a week…

    • Yes, fresh start tomorrow! I’m thinking that going to bed early tonight is in the cards. I was actually thinking about 7pm, but then I thought I’d made a quiche instead. 🙂 Also, if you haven’t seen the movie “Rush,” you should. It’s quite a great movie.

Leave a Reply

