Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies and A Monday Workout (Do those two go together?)

Tonight I was reading the Chocolate Covered Race Medals blog and noticed that she had made peanut butter cookies.  Well, this spurred a desire in me to do the same.  The batch only makes 12-14 cookies depending on size, but it worked well.

Ingredients:

  • ¼  cup homemade peanut butter (see here)
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • ¼ cup brown sugar
  • 1/8th cup white sugar
  • 1 small egg
  • ¼ tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • ½ cup white flour (I used ¾ cup and it was ok but I wish I had used less)
  • ½ cup oatmeal

Directions: Heat oven to 375deg F. In medium size bowl beat together peanut butter, butter and sugars.  Mix until well blended and then add egg.  Once egg is mixed through add baking soda, salt, and flour.  Once that’s mixed together a bit then add the oatmeal.  Mix until the dough is blended nicely.  Roll out into sizes that you think are good and then bake for 6 minutes.

peanut butter oatmeal cookies

pb oatmeal cookies 2

For my workout:  If you read my post from yesterday you’ll know that my week last week was quite a week!  Well, it’s a fresh start today and I thought I’d start with a nice little workout.

In the morning I decided to go to the gym and hit up the treadmill.  For some reason running has been really hard for me lately.  Not sure what’s going on.   As I got on the treadmill I was determined to run at least 20 minutes with no excuses to slow down or stop.  I decided to start at 6.5 because for some reason 7.0 has been hard lately.

As I’m looking down at my Nike+ Sportband I notice that my pace says 8:30.  This is not right because a 6.5 on the treadmill should equal around a 9:13 mile.  Previously my sensor was calibrated to the treadmill at Crunch and it was on pace every time.  So one treadmill is wrong.  Later this week I’ll have to try out some other treadmills to see what they say.  The easy thing to do would be run an absolute mile somewhere.  However, it’s rainy and cold outside so that doesn’t sound like fun.

Anyway, I ended up running 20 minutes non-stop so I accomplished what I wanted.  I need to get back up to my 6+ miles @ 7.0 which is where I was.  After the run I then did the stair stepper for 30 minutes.

In the evening I did the following:

  • 25 squats
  • 20 crunches
  • 25 squats
  • 50 side leg (both sides)
  • 25 squats
  • 20 crunches
  • 25 wide squats
  • 20 crunches
  • 25 wide squats
  • 25 donkey kicks
  • 15 push-ups
  • 25 donkey kicks
  • 30 pilates leg circles
  • 15 push-ups
  • 30 pilates leg circles
  • 15 push-ups

To finish it up: Soak in a bubble bath… if only I had some wine!

4 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies and A Monday Workout (Do those two go together?)

    • Yay! I’m glad they look exciting. Try the recipe with just the 1/2 cup flour though and let me know how it goes. I knew I should have stopped there but it just didn’t seem right so I added the extra 1/4 cup.

Leave a Reply

