5k Tuesday

I should start out by saying that pretty much every run I do from now through the end of winter will be on the treadmill.  I know there are those out there who don’t consider that running, but oh well.  I’m not a cold weather runner and same goes for the rain.  I physically can’t warm up when it’s cold outside, no matter how far, how fast, or how long I run.   My goal for next spring though is to make sure I actually get out on the pavement more often. 🙂

So, onto today!   My cat decided that 4:30am was a good time to wake up and she tried her darned hardest to make that my wake up time as well.  Luckily I’m the boss. 🙂

Finally I get up, feed the cat, and put on my gym attire.  I look outside and what do you know, it’s raining! So weird…

As I get to the gym I decide that I’m determined to run 3.1 miles even if I have to move like a slug.  Yesterday annoyed me with how hard it felt to run and today I just wanted to push through that feeling.

I chose a different treadmill than yesterday and the pace on my sportband said 8:44 @ 6.5.  The one from yesterday said 8:30. @ 6.5   The pace definitely felt different from yesterday and much more comfortable.  I’ll eventually figure out which is off, the sportband or the treadmill.

The running wasn’t actually that hard and I had no problem getting the 5k in.  I went by the treadmill as opposed to my sportband in terms of distance (which read 3.22).  Towards the end I even kicked the treadmill up to 7.5 to finish it out… and because I wanted to be done!

So now I have expectations for myself to be able to do that on a regular basis and eventually get back up to my standard 6 miles @ 7.0.

After the treadmill workout I did some weights to round out the morning.  All weights were 3 sets of 10 reps.

  • 65lb leg extension
  • 60lb leg curl
  • 30lb shoulder press
  • 20lb deltoid raise
  • 40lb bicep curl
  • 40lb tricep

Then I came home and had a delicious breakfast of Scottish oatmeal with boysenberries, cinnamon, and milled flaxseed, and then two scrambled eggs.

I’d say that feels like a pretty good start to the day.  Now, to not be tired at work!

5 thoughts on “5k Tuesday

    • I’m so glad there are others out there that dislike running in the cold. So many people have comments when you say you run on the treadmill a lot. And yeah, I too wish I could be one of those people who has no problem running in the rain, the cold, the wind, etc. I just can’t do it. When I get cold I physically hurt and it’s just not fun; it’s mostly my fingers but even gloves don’t seem to fix it.

      One year I had to run the Portland Marathon in the rain… that was not awesome but I made it through. So maybe in the future I’ll learn to like running in the rain, but right now I’m good with the treadmill. 🙂

      • Ha! I’ll take it. So that marathon was 3 years ago now. I actually trained for it as well, which was really unusual for me. The entire time training I refused to run in the rain when it came because I was like, “It hardly ever rains at the Portland Marathon!” Well, wake up that morning we’re talking it was a DOWNPOUR! I felt like that’s what I got for refusing to run in the rain. It was raining so hard that a short time into the race I could look down and actually see the water squish out of my shoes. The rain stopped, for me, around mile 22 but by that time it didn’t really matter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

