Parmesan Quiche

Reading my blog recipes you could probably determine two things: 1) I love berries.  Seriously, they’re the best and I’ve blogged about this 🙂 2) I also love eggs.

Whenever I have the chance to make a quiche I get excited.  I think it’s such a versatile food that you can make with almost any vegetables or other added ingredients. This quiche is right along those lines.

I’d recently been to the farmers market and purchased some squash.  I love this time of year because it’s squash central and that’s another one of my favorites.

Along with the squash I found some delectable looking carrots that I could not pass up, as well as an amazing bunch of kale.

At home I had a white onion I needed to use up, along with some eggs from my parents chickens.  When all of this was put together what ended up coming out of the oven was quite the tasty meal.

Parmesan quich veggies

parmesan quiche cooked

Ingredients:

  • 1 squash (I used heart of gold but most any squash will suffice)
  • 1 onion, sliced thin (I only had a white onion which isn’t ideal for caramelizing, but I needed to use it up)
  • 3 large carrots, any color, sliced thin
  • 3-4 large leaves of kale
  • ½ cup (heaping) Parmesan cheese, shredded
  • 8 small eggs (or 6 large)
  • 1 – 1 ½ cup skim milk depending on how much the eggs give you

Crust:  Now, this crust I was experimenting with making it almost completely whole wheat, so it’s a bit interesting.  I’ve also made two other quiche/pie crusts, which you can find here.  This one has some whole-wheat flour and this one is your standard crust.  For this trial I did the following:

  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • ½ cup white flour
  • ½ stick butter
  • 6 tbsp. (plus a bit more) of ice water

Directions: Heat oven to 400F

For the crust: cut the butter into the flour until little pebbles form.  Pour in water and mix together with a fork.  You may eventually have to squish it together by hand.  Once that’s formed a nice dough, set aside.

Slice squash into quarters and brush with olive oil.  Set in pan with half of the side lined in tin foil and reserved for the carrots – place sliced carrots on tin foil and also brush with olive oil.  Bake in oven for about 45 minutes.

While the carrots and squash are cooking start the onion slices in a pan.  Pour a bit of olive oil in the pan and cook over low temp until the other vegetables are out of the oven.  This isn’t “real caramelizing” which uses sugar and butter, but they still taste good.  While those are cooking chop the kale (making sure to cut out the hard stem) and shred the Parmesan cheese.

When the oven timer dings set the veggies aside and allow to cool for a few.

Now would be a good time to roll out the dough and place in the quiche pan.  Make sure you let some crust hang over the edge and cut off some of the excess.  Place in oven and bake crust for 10 minutes.

Well, that’s done and now it’s time to chop the squash!  You may need to handle the squash with a towel because I feel it doesn’t cool enough in that time.  Peel most of the squash and chop into cubes.  I ended up only using ¾ and put the other in the fridge to eat later.

Ok, now you’re ready to actually make the quiche.  Quiche is quite the process depending on the ingredients.

Layer the ingredients in the pan in any order you wish.  I believe I went kale, onions, carrots, squash, and cheese and repeated 3 times.

Place quiche pan on cookie sheet.

Put eggs and milk in blender and blend until slightly frothy.  Pour into oven and bake anywhere from 45 minutes to 1 hour.  This is the quiche that I was making when the power went out, so I think it took somewhere around that time to cook.

In the end this ended up being about a 2-hour process.  I would recommend, if you’re crunched for time, roasting the veggies and chopping everything a day ahead.  Then on the day of making the quiche you only have to make the crust if you’re not going the store bought route.

parmesan quiche slice

parmesan quich eaten

2 thoughts on “Parmesan Quiche

Leave a Reply

