10k plans & my first run with compression sleeves

This morning when I got up to work out, I noticed that it started raining again.  Meaning the skies must have cleared specifically for the Portland Marathon yesterday.  J

Last night I decided that I’m going to do a 10k in December.  It’s fitting that I do this since I’ve only run marathons, half marathons, and a 5k.  Might as well get a 10k in there somewhere!

I’m going to follow the Hal Higdon 10k intermediate training plan.  I figure this will be a good way to keep me on track.

It also means that since I’ll have a workout just about everyday, that I won’t be able to work crazy hours for a while.  The reason being that I need to have enough energy to get a workout in.  I’m sure my co-workers will be happy to hear this since they tell me I work too much anyway.

Here’s my workout plan for the week:

  • Monday: 3 mile run + strength (finished this morning), Zumba
  • Tuesday: 3 mile run, yoga
  • Wednesday: 35 min tempo run,
  • Thursday: 3 mile run + strength, yoga
  • Friday: Off (though I may do Zumba)
  • Saturday: Cross train (not decided on what it will be yet)
  • Sunday: 4 mile run

My workout this morning went really well.  I’m still not sure what to go by, my sportband distance or the treadmill distance.  This morning I went by the treadmill distance and figured there’s no harm if it is off and I run a bit over in terms of distance.  So I may just keep with that.  Ultimately I should get to a track somewhere and test my watch; just need to make that happen.

Yesterday late afternoon I went for a run and wore my new compression sleeves. This is the first time I’ve used them and I’ll just say it was interesting. I could really feel the heat difference as opposed to normal.  I almost always wear capris when running and never realized how much that lower leg being exposed helped with keeping cool.  I’m really not a running shorts person so I’ll have to play around a bit.

So now it’s on to getting ready for work and my plan for work today is to find a day to take off.  Why?  Because last night I ha a dream that the kids were now just living in my house!  Oi!

2 thoughts on “10k plans & my first run with compression sleeves

    • I’m definitely willing to keep using them and know I’ll eventually get used to them. Maybe I just need to make sure to wear tank-tops since I like to wear capris. Have a little trade off.:)

Leave a Reply

