Kale Stuffed Chicken Breast

Before I get into this recipe, I need to tell you a little story that I find amusing: Last night I went to the store because I needed conditioner.  The brand I use no longer has the formula I’ve been using for over a year.  So I needed a new conditioner.  I considered switching to another brand that I saw on a commercial recently.  When I looked at the ingredient list of the new product I decided against it because it had yellow dye #5 in it.  I typically try to avoid dyes.  HOWEVER, I then thought it was perfectly acceptable to get M&M’s.  You know, because ingesting various color dyes is clearly better than putting them on your hair and then rinsing them off.  [Eye-roll]

Anyway, onto this little dinner I cooked up the other night.

It was again one of those “I need to use up things in my fridge” evenings.  The lucky recipe for tonight was stuffed chicken breast.

Ingredients:

  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 4-5 large kale leaves, stems removed  (can substitute spinach if you dislike Kale)
  • ¼ cup parmesan cheese
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • Touch of sea salt
  • Sliced bell pepper (would be good with asparagus too)
  • Breadcrumbs (I used some sourdough breadcrumbs I made a couple weeks ago, but any kind would be delicious)

Directions:  Heat oven to 375-F. Place the kale, Parmesan, garlic and salt in a food processor.  Mix until moist and it slightly sticks together when you gather it in your hand.  Set aside.  Place the chicken breast on flat surface and lay a piece of plastic wrap over top.  Pound chicken until it’s desired thickness (I went pretty thin).  Spread kale mixture onto the chicken breast and then place bell peppers on top.  Roll up the chicken, brush with olive oil, and roll in breadcrumbs.  Bake for 30 minutes (or until chicken is cooked through) depending on thickness of chicken.

10 10 13 - 1

10 10 13 2

10 10 13 3

10 10 13 4

10 10 13 5

Previously I posted about a stuffed chicken breast on my blog that has been quite popular.  You can check that out here. (Seriously, take a look, it’s delicious.) I hope this chicken breast proves to also be a go-to recipe.

I do understand that kale can be quite the acquired taste, but it’s definitely worth giving it a shot.  May also be fun to dress up the kale mixture with different spices (or lemon) in the future or even do a Dijon sauce and drizzle over the top.

In fact, I may have the try to the sauce over the weekend.  I recently bought this amazing Dijon mustard that was being tested at my local New Seasons.  They were clearly sampling this mustard because it’s amazing.  Their tactic worked – I bought some.  It’s definitely a little treat since it’s $5.00 for a small bottle, but it’s so good; I’ll have to use it for something special.

Side note – I’m finally out of Parmesan cheese!  I’m not a huge fan of Parmesan but I bought it for a specific recipe and I’ve been trying to think up ways to use it ever since.  Glad to say that it’s now gone and I can move onto something different. J

2 thoughts on “Kale Stuffed Chicken Breast

    • Haha, that’s wonderful! I have no problem avoiding candy, but the M&M’s just sounded SO good. I definitely should have left them at the store. 🙂

Leave a Reply

