10k Training – Week 2

Today kicked off week two towards my 10k.

Last week turned out really well. My 4-mile run yesterday was one of those runs where I felt like I could have run fifty more.  For a while I was tempted to just go to 6 or so, but figured I would be good and follow the plan.

This morning when I went to the gym I was a little concerned that it was going to be a bit more difficult.  See, yesterday I wore these awesome booties I have and, well, my feet paid the price after a while.  However I’m happy to say that this morning the feet feel great and the treadmill run went really well.

Here’s the plan for this week (Still using this 10k training plan):

  • Monday: 3 mile run & strength, Zumba
  • Tuesday: 3.5 mile run, yoga
  • Wednesday: 8×400 @ 5k pace
  • Thursday: 4 mile run & strength
  • Friday: Rest
  • Saturday: 60 minute cross (might do a bouldering gym)
  • Sunday: 5 mile run

In addition to feeling great after a nice workout this morning, I am happy to say I have solved a pet peeve!  For years I’ve been annoyed (with myself!) when reaching in my gym back and upon taking out my earphones, find I have to spend a couple minutes untangling them.  I can’t even explain how many times this has drove me nuts; I kept thinking I needed to get something to fix that.  I just never followed through on fixing the problem.  Well, over the weekend I finally followed through.  I am happy to report that this morning was an earphone tangle free morning. 🙂

10 14 13

So now it’s on to my week, which is a short week since I’m taking off Friday and Monday.  I planned that break I needed!

I’m already trying to think of something to plan for my days off and will readily take suggestions.  I think a movie sounds nice but I’m not sure which one to go see.  I saw Captain Phillips over this past weekend and the weekend before saw Rush.  Both were really excellent movies (with Rush being my favorite).  I’m not sure what other movies are out right now but that may be an option.  Outside of that, maybe I’ll just take a lot of naps and relax!

 

2 thoughts on “10k Training – Week 2

    • Let me tell you, napping right now sounds pretty awesome! I know it’s 8pm, but man, I am sleepy. My not overworking plan is still not working. HA!

Leave a Reply

