Bean and Tortilla Soup

Updated: 10.16.13 – I changed up this post a bit because I realized this soup is more versatile.

Last week I was looking to make soup in the crockpot but wasn’t sure what kind I wanted.  What I ended up mixing together was really easy and basic.

Ingredients:

  • 1 chicken breast, cubed (optional)
  • 1 cup 13 bean soup (I used Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 2 carrots, sliced
  • 3-4 stalks celery, sliced
  • 1 jar salsa (Mine was from the stock my mom cans and had habanero in it. I’m sure any salsa would do though)
  • Water
  • Tortilla chips (optional)
  • Cheese (optional)

Directions:  Toss everything in the crockpot, add the amount of water for desired consistency, then cook for 8 hours on low.  Pretty tough recipe. 🙂  This made 5 or so servings of just over 1 cup.  You can omit the chicken if you want a vegetarian version, which is equally as tasty.

Update: The other day I had this for lunch and crushed a few tortilla chips into the soup and then put a little shredded cheese over top.  I heated it in the microwave until the cheese was melted and it added a little something extra on a cold day.

10 15 13

I now have so much soup in my freezer that I am stocked up for quite a while.  In addition to this soup I recently made a butternut squash soup and an onion soup.  Both of which will be added to containers today to be put in the freezer.  I’m thinking I shouldn’t make soup for a couple weeks. 🙂

Aside from soup I got another great workout in this morning.  I did the 3.5 mile run on the treadmill and followed that up with 30 minutes on the stair climber.  Tonight, if I can get off work early enough, I’m hoping to get some yoga in as well.

3 thoughts on “Bean and Tortilla Soup

    • Me too! I love crockpots all year round because soup is probably my favorite food, but something about the fall just makes them more wonderful. Also, I’m going to edit this post up a bit and give it a new name. I tried something at work today that was delicious with this soup. 🙂

  1. Pingback: Tired legs and an OK onion soup | When Toasters Go Pyro

Leave a Reply

