Tired legs and a OK onion soup

I did a 4 mile run this morning and boy my legs were tired!!! Yep, that deserved the three exclamation points. 🙂

I’m thinking the legs must have been tired from my great run yesterday, but it was also a long day at work… until 9:30pm.  Which means eating was a bit scattered throughout the day, so that could have played into it as well.

However, I managed to get through the 4 miles but it was at a pace that was much slower than what I’ve been doing.  I figured that was fine and a good little recovery from yesterday.   I don’t have another run on the schedule until Sunday, and just a bit of cross training on Saturday.

As for Friday, well, I plan on sleeping in.  I took my car to the shop tonight to have a little check-up done, which means tomorrow I have nowhere I need to be or anything I should be doing.  It may sound strange, but I’m looking forward to laundry and organizing.  I think I’ve just been so go-go-go lately that I’m looking forward to rather bland things.

I will need to work just a bit this weekend though as I’m meeting a private client on Monday, so I have some stuff to get ready for that.  But outside of that I plan on going nowhere or doing anything.  Typically that’s not my style, but it sounds nice.

Tonight after I got home from work I gave a try to the onion soup I made the other night.  I must say that I’m a HUGE fan of French Onion Soup, but I wanted to try something different and mess around with some flavors.  What I ended up coming up with was ok, but I don’t think I’d make it the same away again.  Next time I’ll stick to the tried and true.  It’s not to say that this was bad, I think I was just craving more of a flavor pop.  Though, I also had soup for lunch so maybe it was just too much soup for one day… wait, I don’t think that’s possible. 🙂

In the soup I used a Malbec wine instead of a white, and used beef stock (very low sodium version since beef stock is loaded with salt) instead of chicken.  I sautéed the onions for quite some time and then added the wine and cooked it down.  I topped it off with the beef stock and some herb mix and put it in the oven for an hour.  It was definitely fragrant when cooking, and soup is always a warming treat.  I also used a great whole wheat bread to dip in the soup so that added something as well.

10 17 13

I’m pretty sure how much I’ve mentioned I LOVE my food processor (making peanut butter is one of my favorites).  Look how great it sliced these onions.  No tears involved!

10 17 13 2

Really great low sodium stock.

10 17 13 3

Just out of the oven.

10 17 13 4

Finished product.

2 thoughts on “Tired legs and a OK onion soup

Leave a Reply

