A 5 mile run, a German Pancake, and a nice weekend

Weekend = so far, so good.

I ended up taking 2 days of rest as opposed to doing a cross training day on Saturday, due to my legs being so tired on Thursday. That proved to do the trick and today’s workout went well.

Initially when I woke up a run did not sound ideal.  I was a bit tired but also past the point of being able to sleep.   So as is routine, I got out of bed and first thing I did was put on workout clothes. Once those are on then you’re committed to the workout. 🙂

When I got to the gym I did a 5 mile run (treadmill of course because it’s dark outside in the morning) and followed that up with 20 minutes on the stair stepper.  Breakfast this morning was a blueberry smoothie, naturally, and a piece of toast with peanut butter.

Outside of today’s run the whole weekend has turned out well.  The only part that was slightly irksome was a car fix on Friday, but at least I’m not longer having exhaust come into my car.  They showed me the hose after they fixed it, and it had broken into 3 pieces.  Not ideal.  If anyone in the Portland area ever needs work on his or her car, I highly recommend Accurate Auto.  They’re down to earth and don’t tell you 800 things are wrong with your car; they focus on what really needs to be fixed.  Not to mention, the prices are better than many places I looked into.  I’ve taken my car there a few times and am please each time.

Ok, moving on.  After I got my car back on Friday, since I had the day off, some friends and I went to an apple farm.  We’re into our awesome apple season right now so I picked up some delicious braeburns (my favorite).  After that we went to get some frozen yogurt and walk around in our beautiful weather.  We finished up the night with enchiladas and playing with their cutie little kids. 🙂  They also had pumpkins at the apple farm so the kids had a good time playing around those.

10 19 13

Saturday brought more great weather, which of course meant a trip to the farmers market.  After that, my friend and her son came back to my place and I made us a Dutch Baby (German Pancake).

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs
  • ½ cup milk (I used skim)
  • ½ cup white flour
  • ½ stick butter (could use less but this adds great taste)
  • Vanilla flavor (however much you’d like)

Directions: Heat oven to 450F and put the pan you’ll be using in the oven while it warms up.  When the oven is ready, put all ingredients (minus the butter) into the blender and blend until mixed well.  Take pan out of oven and put the butter in and move around until melted.  Pour blender mix into the pan and cook for 20-25 minutes.  I think next time I’ll just do 20.

10 20 13

10 20 13 2

This German pancake is a bit more on the thin side, which is how I like them.  For the topping I took one of those tasty braeburns and cut it into small pieces.  I then cooked it on low the whole time the pastry was cooking and towards the end mixed in some cinnamon.  Powdered sugar topping is optional.

After my friend left I got some stuff done around here and then went for a walk.  It was such a beautiful day that a walk was necessary.

10 19 13 3

10 19 13 7

When I got home I decided cookies sounded fun to make.  I ended up making spritz cookies and making them sort of Oregon State-ish.  It’s tough to make a black cookie, so cocoa powder would get me as close enough.   I’m not a football person (at all) but I did see on the news that the Beavers won.  Clearly my cookie spirit helped… right? 🙂

10 19 13 6

Now that I have so many cookies I put them in the freezer because well, I don’t want to eat them all so I’ll save them for work.

Now it’s onto the rest of the relaxing weekend as I also have Monday off!

2 thoughts on “A 5 mile run, a German Pancake, and a nice weekend

Leave a Reply

