Being tired does not help a workout

Today I went to the gym with the anticipation of doing a 40 minute tempo run on the treadmill…

Five minutes in I thought I’d just go for 3 miles and switch today and tomorrow’s workouts…

I ended up making it 15 minutes at a 10 min/mile pace… and that was pushing myself. 😦  I then walked it out for a total of 30 minutes.

For the past three nights I have had absolute awful nights of sleep; I’m sure this is the #1 factor into not being able to make it today.

You might be wondering: Why would you go to the gym early in the morning if you’re so tired?

The answer would be: Because I can’t sleep and being at the gym sounds better than lying awake in bed.

I’ve been going to bed at a decent time, it’s just the quality of sleep hasn’t been there.  Thus leading to a completely sluggish feeling that lasts the entire day.

Even right now as I type this I feel like I could fall asleep at the keyboard. I’m sure that feeling will help me absorb every detail of my training this morning.  🙂

So tonight it’s hopefully to bed REALLY early because I am bound and determined to get a good nights sleep.   If I have another night of tossing and turning, then tomorrow I will definitely skip the workout and move it to Friday.  If I’m still tired on Friday, well I will still workout but I’ll do so something light.  It’s always important to get some type of workout in. J

One thought on “Being tired does not help a workout

Leave a Reply

