10k training week 4. Plus, a new level of sore muscles

Well guys, my bouldering experience yesterday has left my upper body sore in ways that I didn’t know possible.  Apparently I rarely use muscles in my back and certain parts of my arms, so today I am feeling the burn.   My hands are also feeling the burn… literally.  Anytime I touch something warm or hot they instantly feel like they’re on fire.

Immediately after bouldering yesterday I could tell I was sore, but this morning is a whole new level.  It hurts to do any type of stretch, it hurts to get dressed, pick something up, etc.  I’m not complaining though because I’d really like to do it again.  The sore muscles are a sign of exercise, and you can’t be annoyed with that. 🙂

So onto the plans for this week’s 10k training:

  • Monday: 3 mile run + weights
  • Tuesday: 4.5 mile run
  • Wednesday: 9×400 + scavenger run in the evening (Hopefully it doesn’t rain because my friend and I are fair weather runners.)
  • Thursday: 4 mile run + strength (this is dependent upon how scavenger run goes since that’ll be two runs in 1 day).
  • Friday: 2 mile run
  • Saturday: Rest
  • Sunday: 5k  (supposed to be a race, but will just be on my own)

For this mornings workout I was really refreshed as I went to bed at 8:30 last night.  Yep, 8:30pm.  I’m not sad to admit it either. I was tired!

Despite being quite awake this morning it did take a little extra oomph for the running.  My legs are a bit sore from yesterday’s 6 miles, plus I had the added soreness of my upper body.  My pace ended up only being 9:05/mile rather than the 8:45 I’ve been practicing.  I figured it was no problem though because pacing today wasn’t that important.

After the treadmill I did a few circuit weights:

  • Leg press: 160lbs 2×15
  • Leg extension: 65lbs 3×10
  • Leg curl: 60lbs 3×10
  • Shoulder press: 30lbs 3×10
  • Lateral raise: 20lbs 3×10

I ended up running out of time with weights and needed to get home and ready for work.

After working out I finished up the morning routine with 1egg and 2 egg whites, a sourdough English muffin, and a pear.  Topped it off with a cup of tea and now it’s work time.

 

10 28 13

2 thoughts on “10k training week 4. Plus, a new level of sore muscles

    • Oh man, I love that sore feeling after a workout as well. You are right though, this new workout is making it TOUGH! My abs have now started feeling the burn, so basically my upper body feels like it’s a tight ball of muscles. 🙂

Leave a Reply

