My 10k has changed to a 12k! Week 5 Training Plan

Last week I received an e-mail regarding the Hot Buttered Run that I’m participating in.  In the e-mail it mentioned the race now finishing in a different location and all the extras they’re working on supplying… and then it mentioned the race is changing from a 10k to a 12k.

Now, I understand that only adds roughly a mile and a half onto the 10k, but it’s still a mild and a half that I was not expecting.  Especially in the cold December air.

In the e-mail it mentioned they would gladly move you to the 5k if you were not up for the 12k, however, I would feel like a weenie if I did that.  So my friends, I’m going to go head and stick with the 12k.  Which means, I will still have not official run a 10k, which is what I was attempting to do.  Oh well.

Here’s the training schedule for this week (sticking with the 10k plan)

  • Monday: 3 mile run
  • Tuesday: 5 mile run
  • Wednesday: 45 min tempo run
  • Thursday: 3 mile run & weights
  • Friday: Rest
  • Saturday: Cross train
  • Sunday: 6 mile run

Last week’s training ended up not taking place per the plan.  Here’s what ended up happening:

  • Monday: 3 mile run
  • Tuesday: 4.5 mile run
  • Wednesday: 45 min tempo run & 5k in the evening
  • Thursday: off (instead of 4 miles)
  • Friday: off (instead of 2 miles)
  • Saturday: 1.5 miles & cross train
  • Sunday: 3.1 miles

For some reason the double run on Wednesday threw me off.  Typically I would run on Thursday morning but the Wednesday evening run made me a bit tired, so I slept in.  By the evening time I just was not feeling it so went ahead and called it a day.

Friday I had an early meeting that also went late and rather than getting in a rushed workout I also took that day off.

Saturday was rough because my legs were tired, though I did managed to get in 1.5 miles and then some cross training.  I’m all right with that.

Sunday I felt pretty good for the run and also got in a nice round of weights combined with stability:

  • 3 sets each:
    • 15 standing leg kickbacks on Bosu ball
    • 15 side leg on Bosu ball
    • 10 reps bicep curls, 15lb weights, while standing on flat side of bosu ball
    • 3 sets each (all on flat side of Bosu ball)
      • 15 reps bent over row, with heavy weights
      • 10 reps shoulder press, with 10lb weights

That brings us to Monday morning and week 5 of the training plan.  I’ve already completed the morning workout and I felt pretty good.  Let’s hope the rest of the week goes as planned. 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “My 10k has changed to a 12k! Week 5 Training Plan

    • Thanks lady! I’m hoping for the best. Last week was SO tough running that it was making me question how well the 10k would go, let alone the 12k. I was feeling like I’m going to finish slow which is what I really don’t want to do; though I do understand finishing is the most important. So here’s to hoping this weeks running goes much better… I’m wondering if the glass of wine will help. HA!

Leave a Reply

