When you’re injured during training, just relax – Week 6

Not only have I been absent from blogging for the past week, but I have been absent from any sort of running thanks to a nagging sore spot.

Last Monday I did my scheduled run.  Later in the day I noticed my Achilles on one side was a bit sore.  Brushed that off and the next day did my run for 5 miles. I made it three miles but it felt difficult, the annoying spot being the Achilles again.  I ended up doing two miles of intervals to finish out the 5 miles.  Later on that day I realized that this was something not to run through.

How I discovered this?  I went to scratch my ankle around mid-day and just about lost my nerve when I bumped my Achilles. Talk about sore.

So after that I knew running for the rest of the week would not be wise.  I instead was light on the activity and made sure to not do any serious pushing off of the foot.  The elliptical was my friend last week.

Yesterday I went to a step class and things felt ok.  The Achilles feels good and doesn’t hurt when I touch it anymore, so I’m going to pick a day this week to do a decent run.

I’ve decided to not follow the training schedule again this week but to take it easy just in case.  I want to make sure I’m ready for race day.  So instead of the training schedule I plan to get in some decent workouts that won’t cause undue stress to the area and then resume training next week.

So, over the weekend when I normally find myself working out in the mornings, I now had some time to relax.

I kicked off the weekend by seeing a movie on Saturday morning.  [If you read my blog much, you know I’ve been going to a lot of movies.]

I didn’t have any free movie tickets left so instead of driving across town to go to a regal theater I went to Cinetopia near where I live.

For those of you who don’t know what Cinetopia is (here’s a Link) it’s a theater house set up with multiple types of rooms.  They have regular theater rooms, a Grand XL screen, Lounge Theaters with recliners and foot rests (and are 21+), as well as Movie Parlor rooms with couches and tables.  In the lounge and parlor rooms they have waiters who will take orders before the movie starts; pretty fun.

I ended up going to one of the lounge theaters and I forgot how much I like going to this theater.  You might pay a bit more for tickets but it’s pretty great to put your feet up, lean back, and watch a movie feeling completely relaxed and comfortable.  I may have to start going here more than once a year.

11 11 13

The movie I saw was “Thor: The Dark World” and I was every bit as pleased as I thought I would be.

My favorite character of the series is Loki  (not to mention Tom Hiddleston is my dream man J) and he proved to do another great job in this film.  I definitely had a couple, “NOOO” moments, but enjoyed the twists and turns.  I’m excited to see what they’ll do with the next installment.

I then spent the rest of the weekend visiting friends and being out and about around town.  On Sunday a friend and I went to a sushi place on NW 23rd that has Happy Hour sushi rolls all day Sunday.  The sushi was delicious and I just may have to go back again.

As for the rest of the week, I’m hoping it won’t turn out as busy as last week but I’m not feeling confident about that.  I’ve already got a list of about 50 things that need to get done for work and I’m already down a day since yesterday was an all day assessment.  So, here’s to the start of Tuesday and seeing how it goes.

2 thoughts on “When you’re injured during training, just relax – Week 6

    • Historically I have been VERY bad at taking it easy. Then, when I hurt the ball of my foot last spring, I realized that I’m now at an age where things do not heal as easily and you can’t just push through something anymore. Ah, something about that 30 age. You’re still healthy and spry, but your body just wants more TLC sometimes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

