Sweet & Salty Popcorn to end a girls night

Last Thursday a girl friend and I decided it was time to have a wine night.  We’ve been trying to plan one for a while but it hadn’t been working out.  Finally we made it happen.

For dinner I decided I’d make balsamic chicken in the crockpot.  I’ve made this before and it is, hands-down, a keeper recipe.  The recipe is one I found on Pinterest (here) and the only change I made was using chicken breast instead of thighs.  [Side note – I used Trader Joe’s Balsamic Vinegar and it was delicious!  Last time I used the White Balsamic from TJ’s but the regular adds a little something.]

I also though we’d have sweet potatoes for dinner so tossed those into the crockpot as well.  The sweet potatoes I was a little concerned about because I knew this was not the ideal cooking method, but when you’re looking to have a whole meal done upon arriving home what are you going to do? 🙂

The potatoes ended up turning out ok but I don’t think I’d cook them in the crockpot again.

The chicken on the other hand was delicious.  Chicken breast tends to get a bit drier than thighs, so I’d stick with the thighs if you have them.  Me, I had chicken breast in the freezer and I was not going to the store at 6am!

11 13 13 a

With our dinner my friend brought a Pinot Gris from Elk Cove Winery.  This was also wonderful and we ended up splitting the bottle between the two of us.  Uhm, this proved to be too much for me.  Note to self, 1 glass is more than enough.

After dinner I brought out a snack I had made the night before.  The previous night I was trying to think of what to do for dessert, but with having no desire for going to the store, I figured I’d have to figure something out that I already had on hand.  What ended up being put together was good and not overwhelmingly laden with sugar.

What you need:

  • Air popper
  • 2 scoopfuls (from air popper lid) of popcorn kernels.
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 4 tsp sugar
  • ¼ – ½ tsp salt

Directions: While the popcorn is popping start to melt the butter in large deep pot.  Once the butter is melted put the now popped popcorn in the pot, place on the lid, hold tight, and then shake.  This will coat the popcorn fairly evenly.  You’ll have to shake the pot quite a bit because you’re using a really small portion of butter for such a large amount of popcorn.  When you feel like it’s mixed well enough, put the sugar and sat into a small bow and stir.  Once that’s mixed together pour on top of the popcorn, close the lid again and shake.  You now have a tasty treat that can be poured into a bag or a covered in a dish and kept for a few days.  My coworker and I?  Well, we ate a ton of this… but I’m not saying how much.

11 13 13

Ok, it might have been all of it…

3 thoughts on “Sweet & Salty Popcorn to end a girls night

Leave a Reply

