10k (12k) Training – Week 7

First off, I was away all weekend, which is not always the best when you’re training for a race.  However, it was much needed and I enjoyed spending time with my parents.  We went to one of my favorite places in Oregon; I’ll try having a blog about this later in the week.

As far as running is concerned I’m now into week 7 of training.  This means the race is NEXT weekend! Ahhh, I am completely not ready.

The not ready feeling is coming from having the last 1 ½ – 2 weeks off due to my tender Achilles.

On Saturday I did get to the resort gym and did a mile run plus some light intervals.  I felt pretty good and like I could have run a lot more but I didn’t want to push it.

The next day the Achilles was only just tender but not enough to cause any concern, so hopefully this week I’ll get back into the groove of training.

I’m not sure if I’m off to a good start though because typically I wake up and run early.  I ended up sleeping in today and I’m definitely not an evening runner, so we’ll see how that goes.

Here’s my hopeful plan for the week:

  • Monday: 3 miles and Zumba
  • Tuesday: 6 mile run (may cut it down to 4.5)
  • Wednesday: 50 min tempo run
  • Thursday: 4 mile run
  • Friday: Rest
  • Saturday: Rest or cross train
  • Sunday: 8 mile run (may cut it down to 6.5)

The longer runs may have to be cut down a bit since I haven’t run the past couple weeks, but you never know, I may feel amazing.  I’ll keep you posted. 🙂

2 thoughts on “10k (12k) Training – Week 7

    • Thanks! This is the first time I’ve chose to listen, and it’s not so bad after all. Turns out I didn’t get my run in today as I just got home from work and well, I’d rather have dinner. So here’s to hoping for tomorrow. 🙂

Leave a Reply

