Cornbread, homemade

Well folks, last night was one of the first nights I had some downtime in over a week.  I’ve worked non-stop (through the weekend even) from last Monday and I can’t tell you how much I’m looking forward to this weekend.  The weekend itself will be jam packed, but at least it won’t be jam packed with work.  When I do have down time this weekend I fully plan to veg out on Netflix (after working out), which I recently discovered.

Anyway, one of the nights I got home late I still managed to cook up a quick cornbread for a turkey potpie (more “soupish,” but delicious) that I made in the crockpot last week.

I was excited to make this cornbread because it means I got the chance to use my new Toaster (Convection) Oven.  I recently decided that it’s a tad bit annoying having to heat up the entire oven for something simple, not to mention wasteful.  So I found a great deal (50% off plus another 10%!!!) on a toaster oven and I must say I’m very excited with it.  Here’s the link.

12 12 13 A

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup white flour
  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • ¼ cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 – 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp canola oil

Directions:

Heat oven to 375degrees.  In a bowl mix all ingredients (adding more milk if needed) and stir until well blended.  Grease a pie dish and pour the batter in.  Let sit for a bit and then cook for 20-25 minutes.  Seriously it’s so easy and so delicious and it’s a great accompaniment to soups.

12 12 13 B

I was also very pleased with how my new toaster oven cooked this delicious side.  The cooking was perfectly even; unlike my standard oven, which typically cooks some parts better than others.  I can’t wait to try out more baking and cooking with this new toy.

Leave a Reply

