Rosemary and Basil Roasted Vegetables

I never did a Thanksgiving recap, so this post will kind of be that.  The day ended up being a success and the food was heavily praised.  I love being able to make a Thanksgiving dinner that’s healthy and enjoyable all at the same time.  Who says you need to have too much food or heavy items to make the day great?  Certainly not me.

Two of the items I made were the favorites.  1) Rosemary bread (recipe here) and 2) The roasted vegetables

What you need:

  • Baby carrots
  • Red onion, sliced into chunks
  • Green beans
  • Eggplant (or some other vegetable), sliced
  • Sweet potatoes, the real ones, not yams, cut into thick chunks
  • Rosemary
  • Basil
  • Garlic or garlic powder
  • Olive oil

How to:

Heat oven to 400F.  When I roasted these veggies I had to do them in sets because of the different cooking times for each.  First I cut the sweet potato into chunks and put them into a baking dish.  I poured a little olive oil or top and sprinkled on some basil and then mixed in some garlic.  In another dish I put the baby carrots and thick sliced onions, topped with some olive oil, a couple pinches of rosemary and some chopped garlic; mix everything around so it’s coated.  I then baked these two dishes for about 30 minutes.  In another smaller dish I put in the greens and eggplant topped the same way as the carrots with a bit of olive oil and rosemary.  Add this dish to the oven and bake for 15 or 20 minutes more.  You may want to periodically check the veggies for tenderness and then take them out when they reach what you desire.

12 16 13 B

 

As for the rest of Thanksgiving:

12 16 13 A

 

Homemade rolls, from scratch (I’ll try to remember how I made them)

12 16 13 E

 

Cannellini bean dip (recipe here)

 

12 16 13 C

 

Low sugar apple pie (recipe here)

pie baked

Leave a Reply

