Honey Wheat Bread

Typically I am not a fan of sweet breads.  However, sometimes it’s just that perfect morning accompaniment with a yummy breakfast, or an after dinner treat.

A couple months ago I decided I would try making a homemade honey bread.  It turned out so delicious that I’ve actually made it quite a few times since.  It’s a really easy bread to make and I feel like it would take a lot for it to come out as a complete disaster.

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups Bob’s Red Mill 100% Whole Wheat Flour (I’ve tried other types of wheat flour but there’s something about this flour that is just above the rest)
  • 1/2 cup to 1 cup all purpose unbleached flour
  • 1 tbsp fast rising instant yeast
  • 1 cup water (110-115degrees)
  • 1/3 cup (generous) honey  (I just started using Hanna’s Honey “Meadowfoam” that I found at a local shop.  I was never much to think there was a big difference in honey, but this honey is absolutely supreme.  Here’s the link to the shop I purchased it from: http://www.rafns.com)

Directions:

While the water is heating on the stove pour the full amount of the whole wheat flour into a bowl and 1/2 cup of the white flour.  Measure out the 1tbsp of yeast and toss it in, followed by the honey.  I typically let the honey spill over the edge, just a bit, of the 1/3 measuring cup.  I make sure to avoid having the honey sit directly on the yeast.  By this time the water should be pretty close to heated.  Measure out 1 cup and add to the bowl.  As you’re mixing the dough will end up being really sticky.  Once it’s mixed together a bit, flour a kneading surface with the white flour and start kneading.  This last time I kneaded the bread for 5 minutes and it came out quite dense.  I think 3-4 minutes would be sufficient.  Just knead the bread until it’s nice and smooth.

IMG_4258

Once that’s finished rub a little oil on the inside of a bread pan and flour the sides.  Place the bread loaf inside the pan and stretch it a bit to make it fit.  Sit the bread in a warm area for 1 hour.

IMG_4259

About 20 minutes before the bread is done rising, heat the oven to 375degrees.  After the hour is up cook the bread for 20 minutes.  And that’s all it takes.  After it comes out of the oven I take the loaf out of the pan and let it cool on a rack for about 10 minutes before making the first slice.

IMG_4262

IMG_4264

IMG_4267

IMG_4270

IMG_4271

Leave a comment